School Counseling Department

EHS Counseling Staff

  • Dr. Marshall- Director of School Counseling, O-Z Grades 10-12, Ext: 218
  • Mr. Anderson- School Counselor, A-G Grades 10-12, Ext: 217
  • Mrs. Howarth- School Counselor, H-N Grades 10-12, Ext: 215
  • Ms. Heuitson- School Counselor- All 9th Grade, Ext: 216
  • Mrs. Aubin- Administrative Assistant to EHS Counseling, Ext: 219


Class of 2023

Do you need help completing your Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA)? Look no further. A financial aid officer from Asnuntuck Community College will be joining us on Thursday, November 3rd to provide assistance in understanding the financial aid process and completing the FAFSA. The presentation will be a workshop model, so parents and students who attend should plan to bring along their tax and bank documents as outlined on the attached flyer in order to complete the FAFSA. Students do not need to be attending Asnuntuck Community College to attend. The workshop is open to all EHS families who would like assistance competing the FAFSA for their college-bound student.


When: Thursday, November 3rd, 2022

Time: 6:00 p.m.

Where: Ellington High School Library

Who: Any EHS Family

** Please note: students and parents should bring their cell phones because the FAFSA requires a two-step verification for the log in.

Financial Aid Workshop Flyer


Financial Aid Resources for Students and Families

The Connecticut State Department of Education has developed a new Family FAFSA Guide to help with the financial aid application process

The linked resource above includes:

  • Step-by-step instructions for completing the FAFSA
  • Answers to Frequently Asked Questions about the FAFSA
  • Places where students can get free and virtual support on completing the FAFSA
  • A sampling of financial aid opportunities for Connecticut students.

Also, for students and families, the state is continuing its partnership with CTCollegeBound to offer a free portal where financial aid experts will provide personalized support in completing the FAFSA during virtual and in-person sessions. Sessions will be available in English and Spanish.


Class of 2023 & 2024

College rep visits in the school counseling office have begun! Students can view the list of upcoming visits in Naviance and register to attend these sessions.


Class of 2024

Virtual College Planning Night

The school counseling department offered a college planning presentation on October 19th, 2022. School counselors provided an overview of the college planning process and a suggested timeline of the steps to complete during a student's junior and senior year. Representatives from several colleges presented admissions and school specific information. Attending colleges included Asnuntuck Community College, Eastern Connecticut State University, Quinnipiac University, the University of Connecticut, and Western New England University. The link to the slide deck presentation is below and includes contact information for representatives from the attending colleges. 

Virtual College Planning Night Presentation


AP Test Registration and Payment Due Oct. 28th

  • Go to and sign-in
  • Select REGISTER FOR AN EXAM on MyAP website
  • Choose "Confirm Registration" to indicate "Yes" to indicate that you are taking the exam OR Choose "No" to indicate that you are NOT going to take the exam
  • If you choose "No", there are no further steps
  • If you choose "Yes", continue to this website: (Exam fees are managed online through APTS, Achievement Point Test Service)
  • Submit your $99 payment per exam at by Oct. 28th, 2022 (AP Seminar/Research exams cost: $147)
  • Late exam registration: $40 per exam late fee
  • Please contact your School Counselor if you are eligible for a fee waiver

Deadlines still apply for those students utilizing fee waivers

Important AP Links for Registration and Payment


Class of 2023- Application Fee Free Day

Tuesday, Nov. 15th, 2022

Students applying on Nov. 15 to the University of Connecticut and the four other Connecticut public universities for the Fall 2023 term will have the opportunity to have their admission application fees waived.

General Information

College Information

Crisis Support Information

If you are concerned about your child, a friend, or yourself you can also access supports by calling 211, 911, or the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline at 988.

For true emergencies, don't wait, call 211 (Mobile Crisis) or 911.

Dial 2-1-1 (Mobile CrisisDial 2-1-1 from anywhere in Connecticut and you will reach a highly-trained contact specialist who will assess your needs and provide referrals to the resources in your community. Everyday, contact specialists help callers find assistance for complex issues such as financial problems, substance abuse and suicide prevention and for simpler issues such as finding volunteer opportunities and donation options. 2-1-1 is available 24 hours a day every day of the year. Multilingual assistance and TDD access is also available.

Text/call 9-8-8 (Suicide and Crisis Lifeline)* When people call, text, or chat 988, they will be connected to trained counselors that are part of the existing Lifeline network. These trained counselors will listen, understand how their problems are affecting them, provide support, and connect them to resources if necessary. (*Formerly known as the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline.)

Text 741741 (Crisis Text Linefor free, 24/7, high-quality text-based mental health support and crisis intervention by trained volunteers to support people in their moments of need.

Further resources may be found here.